Cooking reflections

How timely that J at Knitting Group today mentioned the recipe/recipe box post on Mason Dixon Knitting blog today, the ‘reflection on this past year of cooking’ day. I’ve been blessed/cursed to inherit a gigantic amount of recipe-related items such as these little booklets (over 50 0f them) …

cooking booklets

and this handwritten recipe card from someone’s ‘Mama’ – I think it is my great-grandmother’s Mama, but no one can say for sure.

jelly roll

(for those without Eagle Eyes) -

Jelly Roll 

3 egg whites

3 egg yolks

1 c sugar

1 1/2 c flour

2 level teaspoons baking powder

1/2 c warm water

flavoring

Sift flour, measure, add baking powder, sift 3 times. Beat egg whites stiff, fold in sugar, fold in beaten yolks.  Add water and mix in flour lightly.  Bake 25 min in oven 350 or 375.  Spread with tart jelly.  Roll in wet cloth.  – Mama

Before you get all dreamy and nostalgic, here is my recipe/cookbook corner…

cookbook corner

You can see that I have a lot of recipes and I’m always looking for more. I have a worse habit of cookbooks than yarn. I’ve been cooking since I learned how in 7th grade. It is probably no surprise that there are fewer ‘cooking things I learned this year’ and more just recipes I tried.

Recipes/Cooking Things I Tried this Year (the ones I remember)

Fruit salsa (from Chef Walter whose link is “dead,” ok, but needs refinement and perhaps store-bought cinnamon pita chips)

Truffle cake (from Sheri at the Loopy Ewe – rave)

Special K bars (from Sheri at the Loopy Ewe – good, but mine needed more cereal)

Southern pralines (Martha Stewart Living, December issue – rave), coated some in chocolate, too!

Minestrone soup (Martha Stewart Living, some 2007 issue – rave)

Many versions of tortilla soup (none as good as I want)

Paninis (Food TV, Michael Chiarello I think?), we use the grill and an iron skillet
Cooking from my Pantry (the cooking version of Knit from your Stash – rave) -this really upped the ‘creativity factor’ for cooking and eating in the house over the summer.

I don’t recall using any different techniques this year, but I have found a few gadgets that I really like and use often.

My Favorite Kitchen Gadgets

Scooper, bamboo spoons, chopper, mandolin slicer, and adjustable measuring cup from Pampered Chef

Rada knives

Parchment paper

Clothes pins (or closing every kind of bag imaginable, even in the freezer)

Pasta roller

Looking forward, I’d like to try a new recipe each week during the next year. I have a new cookbook (like I need more, ha!) that I got for Christmas from my lovely MIL (Ro’s Simple Pleasures). It is a local cook and book from Paducah. I made some onion soup tonight from it and it was yummy! I’d also like to make a gingerbread house with Bug next Christmas.

In looking at my ‘cooking life,’ I’ve come to realize that cooking is very much a way to share something with others. In particular, baking allows me to show affection and friendship, but it is also a stress reliever for me when I am upset. It sounds funny, but I bake when I am happy and I bake when I am sad.

Finally, what is a post without Bug?
static hair

cimg0447.jpg

Leave a Reply

