Parenting woes and a Wind-ing day

Not much progress on crafting fronts because I’ve been pouring myself into reading a parenting book. Bug’s behavior had been getting the best of me. After a particularly trying evening, a friend mentioned the word ‘boundary’ to me and it got me thinking about them. As an older mom of an only child who nursed for nearly a year, I had gotten used to being completely at the beck and call of a certain little demanding girl. Combine that with a husband who essentially works 2 full time jobs and likes his peace and quiet, and you get me… He is much better at setting limits with her and ‘taking’ the crying. I know that he is and was right, but I just couldn’t fathom it until now. Well, now is the time for change. I have no skills in this area from my childhood (very compliant child easily disciplined by fear and guilt). I’ve looked around at different books on parenting ‘strong-willed’ children and found this one by McKenzie. He makes a lot of sense and I’m trying to follow this. It seems to be working, but I’m having a difficult time trying to anticipate trouble spots and come up with consequences on the spur of the moment. Most of all, the book has given me back some control over my life, instead of dreading going out alone with her (which happens a lot).

I’d post some pictures of Bug and her flying a kite this morning (Look Mama, it is wind-ing outside so let’s fly the kite!) , but wordpress is balking at adding pictures at the moment.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

