Back from Virginia with lots of pictures

My family teases me that they don’t ever have to carry a camera as long as I’m around – I take a lot of pictures.  I’m going to space this out a bit so I don’t have such a terribly long picture-filled post.

We arrived in Virginia  about 10 hours after we started.  The maps said 8, so I added 4 for Bug-travel time.  So, we made great time at 10 hours!  My other family had arrived the day before (Saturday).  We visited and Bug played with her cousins for a bit and then went to bed.  The first day in Virginia we went to Morris Orchard to pick blueberries.  The orchard also had jams and jellies and was very child-friendly.  I had never been to pick them and it was very easy to get Bug into it.

Bug took a liking to riding in Aunt M.’s car and was desperate all week to have a spot in that car.

The afternoon was spent playing outside and included a walk where all the small kids fell asleep in their strollers.

The evening ended with a water balloon fight and candy corn fangs all around.

M had a wonderful fresh blueberry recipe using a yellow cake mix that was WONDERFUL!  I will post the recipe when I get a copy from her.  It resembles this recipe called ‘dump cake’, but uses 2-4 cups of fresh blueberries instead of the pie filling.

Ingredients:

20 ounces crushed pineapple in juice — undrain
1 can cherry pie filling
1 package yellow cake mix
1 cup pecans — chopped
1/2 cup margarine

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Dump pineapple with juice into ungreased 9×13″ pan. Spread evenly. Dump in pie filling. Spread evenly. Sprinkle cake mix evenly over cherry layer. Sprinkle pecans over cake mix. Dot with margarine. Bake for 50-55 minutes or until set. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

