Archive | August 8, 2008

A busy day in Palermo

Friday in Buenos Aires was spent in the Palermo are at the Botanical Garden, Zoo, Evita Museum, and a shopping center.

The botanical garden was pretty and we saw many different trees and cacti.

We ate lunch at a great restaurant – a vegetarian restaurant called Bio.  I had mushrooms cooked in coconut milk and rice, while DH had quinoa risotto.  Both were awesome.

The Zoo was just across the street from the botanical garden so we headed back there.  I was surprised at how they sold animal food and let the kids throw food at the animals AND how close the animals were, even the dangerous ones like a giant brown bear!

There were other Argentine animals, too – llamas and vicunas.

We got some coffee and headed down the street to the Evita Museum.  It was very interesting.  Many people in Argentina didn’t like her, many people did.  She started out poor and wanted to be an actress, so she moved to the city and became an actress.  She started organizing and working for her community and then met Peron.  She was instrumental in getting women the right to vote in Argentina and starting many social programs to help children especially.  She died of breast cancer at age 33.  I couldn’t take any pictures in the museum, but it is definitely worth a visit.  I may have to watch the movie – I don’t like Madonna, though.

Now for the next “bad” happening on our vacation.  DH wanted to see what a mall looked like, so we headed out to Florida Street and down to the subway.  This man kept getting in front of me and going very slow.  He did this twice and made me kind of angry.  I discovered on the subway that my backpack had been pickpocketed.  Luckily, I had my wallet in my jacket.  He or she only got my bottle of tylenol PM and zipper-bag of medicine out of the front pocket, but he or she got my bag of stitch markers and crochet hooks from the big area in my backpack!  I know, I know – I should have had it locked with a lock on the zipper pulls.  At least I had taken out my favorite hooks and my great-grandmothers steel hooks and left them at home.  So, I was more upset at feeling violated.

Flash-forward to today!

I started a pair of clogs for my sister and am still working on the green cable socks (sans double-loop marker that was stolen!)  The new camera came in the mail, so I’ll be able to take some good pictures now (or after the battery has charged and we get a memory card )!

