New year goals

I do like to reflect on the past and think about things I want to change around the new year – not exactly resolutions, but things I want to work on.

Be healthier – Cook more at home , eat out less, try new recipes, drink less pop/soda, eat more vegetables and fruits, exercise more regularly

Parenting – be more consistent with Bug, be more patient with Bug, set boundaries

Personal – take more time to relax and enjoy life, strengthen my dancing technique, knit/crochet a few things for me (hat and scarf)

Family – do more family-oriented activities, visit or call out-of-town family more often

This seems like a lot now that I have it written down…

I tried a few new things this week.

Spoon dolls from  the Usborne Activity Book

p1050001

According to Bug, they are the “princesses who don’t do anything.”  If you have a veggie-tale fan, you will recognize it as a spin off of the ‘Pirates who don’t do anything.’

I made a new recipe given to me at work.

p1090003

Double chocolate chip biscotti

2 c flour

1/2 c cocoa powder

1 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

6 T butter, softened

2 eggs

1 c chocolate chips

1 c nuts

Beat butter and sugar together and add eggs, beat.  Mix flour, soda, salt, and cocoa and add to butter mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.  Form into 2 logs and flatten to about 1 inch (rectangle shape).  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Bake at 350F for 30-35 minutes.  Cool 5 minutes and cut into 1 inch slices.  Place on side and bake 8-10 minutes longer.

I’ve been working on my teal/gray socks in the pointelle pattern.

p1090007

But most of my craft time has been spent working on my dad’s “john deere” clogs.  One more bottom, sewing, and felting to go.

p1090004

One thought on “New year goals

  1. Pingback: 2009 Recipes – the good, the bad, and the ‘meh’ « Beckle Speckle’s Zany World

Leave a Reply

