Biscuits for the New Year!

I got a lovely new cookbook from my sister-in-law and her husband (of the hamburgers from scratch fame).  It is called Ratio by Michael Ruhlman.  I tried the biscuits today.  I meant to make them for breakfast (a Bug favorite), but there were several steps involving refrigerator for at least 1 hour, so they ended up being part of our evening meal.  They were good, but had a tiny bitter taste – perhaps I needed a more flavorful butter or a pinch of sugar or honey…  I will do them again, particularly because they were a hit with the family.  I will start them the day before if they are to be for breakfast.  They also baked into a funny shape because I just cut them into squares after folding the dough into thirds.

pre-bake

post-bake

Leave a Reply

